Official: Godwin Obaseki wins Edo Guber Race


Godwin Obaseki, APC’s governorship candidate was today declared winner of the Edo Guber Elections, after winning majority of the votes cast. The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) announced that he garnered a total 319,483 votes.

Mr. Obaseki’s top challenger, Osagie Ize-Iyamu, got a total 253,173 votes.

Prof. Kayode Soremekun, who INEC’s chief returning officer in Edo state, who announced the results, declared Mr. Obaseki the winner after he won 13 of the 18 local government areas in the state.

However, Edo state PDP have rejected the results, describing it as shambolic.

“If you go by the results that were announced at the polling units and wards across the state, it shows the PDP would have won by over 30,000 votes,” said Dan Orbih, the party’s state chairman in a press conference.

“What INEC is announcing is clearly different from what we got from our agents and independent observers in the 192 wards and over 2,000 units across the state.”

The PDP agent at the collation centre also refused to sign the final result sheet.

“I cannot endorse it,” he told the INEC officials present. “You said I should get ready for court instead of looking at it here and now. I cannot be a party to that,” he said.

The agent of the Young Democratic Party also refused to sign the final result sheet.

“I have the mandate of the Young Democratic Party not to append my signature on this result sheet,” he said.